Dr. Joan L. Sattler


Dean and Professor of Education
College of Education and Health Sciences
Bradley University
1501 W. Bradley Avenue
Peoria, IL 61625


Ed.D., Special Education, University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana

Ed.M., Learning Specialist, University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana

B.S., Special Education and Elementary Education, Western Michigan University


Academic Teaching, Scholarship, and Leadership

Dr. Joan L. Sattler is Professor of Education and inaugural Dean of the College of Education and Health Sciences at Bradley University.  She leads the internal and external academic affairs of the college in preparing leaders within the human service professions in education and health.


Dr. Sattler’s teaching, research, publications, funded grants, and service focus on teacher education, special education, and health education.  Examples of her accomplishments include publications in education journals and books, involvement in research and funded grant projects in the fields of education and health, and the establishment of the college’s Center for Research and Service, the Kemper Professional Development Schools Project, and the newly established Center for Collaborative Brain Research.  She established the newest Department of Physical Therapy and Health Science, through cooperative efforts with seven regional medical centers.  A doctor of physical therapy degree (DPT) program, Bradley’s first professional doctoral program, is recognized nationally.  Another new college program, Hospitality Leadership, began recently. A highlight of her career is opening a new world class facility at Bradley University, i.e. Westlake Hall, a LEED gold green building, which is home to the College of Education and Health Sciences.


Service and Awards

She has served on the board of directors of the AACTE and on two boards of NCATE as well as other national boards. She has served or is currently serving on several community boards, such as the University of Illinois College of Medicine Community Associates Board, the Peoria Sister City Commission, and a founding Board Member and past president of the Hult Health Education Center in Peoria.  She has received several awards, such as the Francis C. Mergen Memorial Award for Outstanding Public Service, the YWCA Outstanding Achievement Award in the Professions, and the “Dare to be Great Award” for excellence in education and leadership by the IWEL organization.